January 21 2015

January 21, 2015


The 7th Annual Bali International School (BIS) Invitational Basketball Tournament will be held February 5th through 8th at BIS. A tournament for secondary schools in Bali and Java, this year for the first time, the tournament will have its first international participant- Dili International School, and Surabaya powerhouse SPY will also attend. The basketball tournaments continue with BIS hosting the IISSAC basketball tournament from February 27th through March 1st.

Meanwhile the second season of the Bali Wheelchair Basketball League got underway last Wednesday with six teams, up from the four teams of the inaugural season last year. Season continues through to the finals at the Coaltrans Friendly Games on June 7. The teams are lead by last years winners Mitrais, together with Jimbaran, Cahaya Mutiara Ubud, Puspadi, BIS and CiBO. (more information see www.balibasketball.com)


Bali continues to attract top level tournaments with the annual badminton team tournament Djarum Superliga moving to Bali for the 2015 season after two successful years in Surabaya.

The world’s top badminton players, including South Korean men’s doubles Lee Yong-dae and Sung Ji-hyun and former women’s singles world champion Ratchanok Intanon of Thailand will play alongside Indonesia’s best, including Mohammad Ahsan, Hendra Setiawan, Tontowi Ahmad, Liliyana Natsir and Tommy Sugiarto, in the event slated for Jan. 25 to Feb. 1 at the Lila Bhuana sports hall in Denpasar.
Five clubs from Japan — Tonami, Hitachi, Renesas, Gifu Tricky Panda and Hokuto Bank — and Granular of Thailand will take part in the competition.

Host Djarum Kudus leads the list of local clubs, which also includes Musica Champion, Jaya Raya Jakarta, Jaya Raya New Stars, Mutiara Bandung, Hi-Qua Wima, Suryanaga Surabaya and USM.
Badminton World Federation president Poul-Erik Hoyer Larsen said it was a great event and would boost badminton’s popularity overall.

Musica Champion is the two-time defending champion in the men’s event, while Jaya Raya Jakarta has twice won the women’s event. Both are favorites to retain the trophy and $200,000 prize money.


In another move to hold a sports event in Bali, the Australian Freediving Association will hold the Australian Depth Nationals in Tulamben, Karangasem, Bali in August ,2015. Held in association with Apnea Bali in Tulamben home to the well known Liberty wreck dive site, using a platform built to AIDA International standards, including a counter balance system. The platform is capable of depths of over 150m, so, the organisers indicate there is no restriction on depth.

Three days of competition (with a day in reserve for inclement weather) are planned. A competitor may choose to do any discipline on any day. Competitors are not required to do each discipline and may do one discipline more than once.

Freedivers from all nationalities are welcome to compete. The male and female with the highest aggregate scores from their best dive in each discipline will be the overall winners. The 2015 Australian Depth Champions will be the male and female Australian citizens with the highest aggregate score of their best dive in each discipline. The male and female winner of each discipline will be the person with the most points from their best dive in that discipline (i.e. points are not aggregated if a person does multiple dives in the one discipline).

Due to the holiday season,regular weekly activities are suspended. This Sporting Life will update for the next edition.

For full list of sports please go to http://www.balisportmag.com

If you wish to add any sporting related information to the calendar, please email info#baliadvertiser.biz.
Copyright ©2015
You can read all past articles of This Sporting Life at www.BaliAdvertiser.biz